Concealed Pistol License Application & Information
*Please note that while many Bothell Police services are resuming, your safety and the safety of our workers remains a top priority. Please bring and wear a mask upon entering the Bothell Police department.
Washington State Law requires that you apply for a concealed pistol license (CPL) from the jurisdiction where you live.* For all the options below, a current, valid picture ID is required. If your ID does not have a current Bothell address on it, please bring proof of residency, such as a utility bill.**
Bothell residents may apply for an original CPL at the front counter of the Police Department during regular fingerprinting hours, every Tuesday between 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. An original CPL is $49.25 and is valid for 5 years from the date of issue. We accept payment by check or exact cash ONLY.
Bothell residents may renew or replace their CPL anytime during regular business hours. The renewal fee is $32. The license is valid for 5 years from date of expiration of current license. You have up to 90 days prior to the license expiration date to renew. If you renew your CPL within 90 days after the expiration date, the late renewal fee is $42. CPLs that are more than 90 days expired are no longer valid; you must apply for an original (see above). The replacement fee is $10 and will hold the original expiration date. We accept payment by check or exact cash ONLY.
Please allow up to 30 days for any type of CPL application to be processed.
*If you have a Bothell mailing address, but live outside the city limits we cannot accept your application for a CPL. You must apply through the King County Sheriff's office or Snohomish County Sheriff's office.
**If you have a Washington State Driver's License you are required by law to notify the Department of Licensing within 10 days of moving to your new residential address. The address on file with the DOL must be your residential address even if you use a P.O. Box or alternate mailing address.