
District and Municipal Courts in King County 

Individuals with traffic-related fines in multiple jurisdictions within King County now 
have an easier and less expensive way to pay court-mandated fines and lift related holds 
from a person's driver's license before the fines are paid in full. 

Frequently Asked Questions 

                  How it Works 
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1. Court customers with suspended licenses due to failure to respond/pay contact a court 
where they have fines to receive the necessary documentation needed in order to 
complete the online application. 

2. Using the documentation provided by the court, the customer will submit an online 
application. 

3. The payment agency works with individuals to determine a realistic payment plan, as 
low as $25.00 per month, which includes a $7.00 fee. 

4. Once the payment agency receives the first installment, participating courts will be 
notified and they will notify the Washington State Department of Licensing that the 
hold can be removed from the person’s driver’s license. 

 
 
 
 
 

Why is this program needed? Shouldn’t people just pay their fines? 
Court fines can be a barrier for people, particularly those with limited economic means. 
In 2016, 66,000 people in King County had court fines that could have led to automatic 
suspension of their driver’s license. Because fines are often collected through a collection 
agency, the baseline fines can grow exponentially due to interest and collection fees. This 
program allows people to pay back the fines without collection and interest fees, and lifts 
the hold on the license at the first payment. 

What about people with fines in only one court? 
All District and Municipal Courts in King County operate relicensing programs that 
have similar payment and relicensing opportunities for individual court customers. This 
plan allows a consolidated payment plan for people with fines in multiple courts in King 
County. People with fines in only one jurisdiction should contact that court for 
information on their relicensing program. 

What if someone stops paying? 
If a customer defaults on the UP Program, the payment agency sends a notice to the 
court, which then removes the case from the program. At that point, the court may assign 
the case to the collection agency and notify the Washington Department of Licensing to 
issue a hold on the license. 



                 FAQ continued 

Do I have to contact each court? 
You can go to any District or Municipal Court in King County to get a copy of your case 
history and the UP Program information. 

Who is the payment agency? 
Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson (LGBS), LLP. 

What courts are participating in the UP Program? 
Participating courts include King County District and the Municipal Courts of Algona, 
Auburn, Bellevue, Black Diamond, Bothell, Burien, Carnation, Clyde Hill, Des Moines, 
Enumclaw, Federal Way, Hunts Point, Issaquah, Kenmore, Kent, Kirkland, Lake Forest 
Park, Maple Valley, Medina, Mercer Island, Newcastle, Normandy Park, North Bend, 
Pacific, Redmond, Renton, Sammamish, SeaTac, Seattle, Shoreline, Skykomish, Tukwila, 
Woodinville and Yarrow Point. 

Can I use the UP Program to pay a fine in another county? 
At this time this program is only available in King County courts. 

Is the $7.00 monthly fee really less expensive than a collection agency? 
The $7.00 monthly fee pays for LGBS to administer the UP Program. Representatives 
work directly with clients to identify a customized payment plan, and interact with the 
courts to make the program successful. See the examples below for a breakdown 
comparing the UP Program with a collection agency. 

 
REGULAR COLLECTION COSTS PROPOSED UP PROGRAM 

36 Equal Monthly Payments of $39.53 each 36 Equal Monthly Payments of $34.78 each 
  Violation  $1,000.00     Violation  $1,000.00  
  Collection Fee (19%)  190.00     Collection Fee (0%)  –  
  Interest during repayment period (12%   232.86     Interest during repayment period (0%   –  
  Set-up Fee  –     Set-up Fee  –  
  Monthly Fees  –     Monthly Fees ($7.00/month)  252.00  

Total that consumer will pay $1,422.86  Total consumer will pay $1,252.00 
     

56 Equal Monthly Payments of $24.99 each 56 Equal Monthly Payments of $24.86 each 
  Violation  $1,000.00     Violation  $1,000.00  
  Collection Fee (19%)  190.00     Collection Fee (0%)  –  
  Interest during repayment period (12%   433.98     Interest during repayment period (0%   –  
  Set-up Fee  –     Set-up Fee  –  
  Monthly Fees  –     Monthly Fees ($7.00/month)  392.00  

Total that consumer will pay $1,623.98  Total consumer will pay $1,392.00 

 
 

For more information, please contact 425-487-5587. 
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District and Municipal Courts in King County 

Individuals with traffic-related fines in multiple jurisdictions within King County now 
have an easier and less expensive way to pay court-mandated fines and lift related holds 
from a person's driver's license before the fines are paid in full. 

 
 

             Participation Requirements 

1. Must have two or more tickets in two or more courts in King County. 
2. Tickets must have a hold or potential hold against the individual’s driver’s license. 
3. Must have an ability to pay (those without the ability to pay should contact the 

court in which the ticket is filed). 
4. Must take care of any outstanding warrants issued by a court in King County. 

 
 

 
A program application can be obtained by contacting the payment agency at 1-844-544-5242, online 
at www.KingCountyUP.com, or by contacting any court of limited jurisdiction within King County. 

Algona (Pacific) PAC 253-929-1140 
Auburn (King County)  AUM/KCD 206-205-9200 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

For more information, please contact any of the 
courts listed above or call 425-487-5587. 
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Maple Valley (Kent) KEM 253-856-5730 
Medina (Kirkland) KIM 425-587-3160 
Mercer Island MIS 206-275-7604 
Newcastle (Mercer Island) MIS 206-275-7604 
Normandy Park (Des Moines) NPP 206-878-4597 
North Bend (Issaquah) IQM 425-837-3170 
Pacific PAC 253-929-1140 
Redmond (King County) KCD 206-205-9200 
Renton REM 425-430-6550 
Sammamish (King County) KCD 206-205-9200 
SeaTac STM 206-973-4610 
Seattle SMC 206-684-5600 
Shoreline (King County) KCD 206-205-9200 
Skykomish (King County) KCD 206-205-9200 
Snoqualmie (Issaquah) IQM 206-205-9200 
Tukwila TKM 206-433-1840 
Woodinville (Kirkland) KIM 425-587-3160 
Yarrow Point (Kirkland) KIM 425-587-3160 

 

Bellevue (King County) KCD 206-205-9200 
Black Diamond BDM 360-886-7784 
Bothell BTM 425-487-5587 
Burien (King County) KCD 206-205-9200 
Carnation (King County) KCD 206-205-9200 
Clyde Hill (Kirkland) KIM 425-587-3160 
Des Moines DMM 206-878-4597 
Duvall (King County) KCD 206-205-9200 
Enumclaw ECM 360-825-7771 
Federal Way FWM 253-835-3000 
Hunts Point (Kirkland) KIM 425-587-3160 
Issaquah IQM 425-837-3170 
Kenmore (King County) KCD 206-205-9200 
Kent KEM 253-856-5730 
King County KCD 206-205-9200 
Kirkland KIM 425-587-3160 
Lake Forest Park LFM 206-364-7711 

 

http://www.kingcountyup.com/
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